Bloodwitch by Susan Dennard


Fans of Susan Dennard’s New York Times bestselling Witchlands series have fallen in love with the Bloodwitch Aeduan. And now, finally, comes his story.

High in a snowy mountain range, a monastery that holds more than just faith clings to the side of a cliff. Below, thwarted by a lake, a bloodthirsty horde of raiders await the coming of winter and the frozen path to destroy the sanctuary and its secrets.

The Bloodwitch Aeduan has teamed up with the Threadwitch Iseult and the magical girl Owl to stop the destruction. But to do so, he must confront his own father, and his past.


I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review

My Rating: 5 Stars

Guys. GUYS! Why the hell did it take me so long to read this series? Seriously, why didn’t anyone shove it into my face sooner? I read Truthwitch five days ago, and finished Bloodwitch last night. I seriously couldn’t put this series down. I took the books with me to work (drove my coworkers nuts – no shame), I slept with it on my bedside table, and I took Friday off so that I can meet Susan Dennard in person!

Okay, enough fangirling – lets talk about Bloodwitch. I enjoyed the first 3 books in the series (Truthwitch, Windwitch, and Sightwitch), but Bloodwitch really blew me away. Susan pulled out all the stops with this one, even including a very slow burn romance that had me swooning.

This installment of the Witchlands series focuses more on Aeduan and his backstory than any of the other novels. His story is tragic and explained so much about why his character does the things he does. This novel also followed some pretty serious character development for our favorite Bloodwitch, development that Dennard managed to write in a very organic way.

A lot of the time with multiple POV novels, I find myself wanting to skip ahead to read only certain POVs. In Bloodwitch, however, I enjoyed every character’s story and how they all joined together.

My Takeaway: Its hard to say more about the novel without revealing spoilers, but I honestly can’t say it enough – every book in this series just gets better and I can’t wait to see what happens next!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s