Reviews

Raybearer – Jordan Ifueko

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent— perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir

Nothing is more important than loyalty.
But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy?

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as The Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince’s Council of 11. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But The Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: Kill the Crown Prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won’t stand by and become someone’s pawn—but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself? With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we’re willing to go for the ones we love.

Goodreads

I received an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review

My Rating: 5 Stars

The first portion of this review is for Jordan Ifueko – WHEN WILL THERE BE ANOTHER BOOK? There is no indication thus far of a second book in this series but I definitely feel like there is more story to tell, and I need to read it. Badly. And now. Please.

Ahem, sorry about that. Let me get my book reviewer cap back on so that I can absolutely gush about this gorgeous book! Raybearer was incredible. I could not stop reading it once I got into it, felt immediately immersed in the world, and was connected to both the main and side characters quickly.

The more I read of this book, the more I could feel myself sinking further into the beautiful world Jordan Ifueko built with each page. For a 368 page book, I am absolutely blown away by the level of intricate world building that was developed. I loved learning about all of the different cultures and their religions. The stories of the creation of the world were wonderful and possibly my favorite part of the book. I would read a book of all Storyteller stories, honestly.

Not only does Raybearer contain phenomenal world development, it is full of touching friendships that grow page by page. I have always loved books in which main characters create their own families, and as Tarisai fell in love with the family she brought together, I did as well. A huge part of the reason I want a sequel to Raybearer is my desire to see more of her Council brothers and sisters.

Don’t worry, I didn’t forget about the romance. To be entirely honest, the romance wasn’t what I expected. It was actually better. The love story in Raybearer was a slow burn friends to lovers romance. While it wasn’t a huge part of the plot, it definitely added to the overall telling of the story and I was practically begging for more pages filled with Tarisai and her love interest.

Overall, I absolutely recommend this incredible book filled with culture, friendships, romance and stunning imagery.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s